Learning the Sound of Your Own Voice

 

An exploration of what it means to learn and unlearn the self. What does it mean to know oneself, but struggle to find a place which you’re not othered in? Over a series of writings in the summer of this year, 2017, I seek to answer this question and more.

By the end of summer 2017, I hope to have fully explored what it means to be a Canadian university student, a racialized one and a Muslim Woman in the world I inhabit. I hope that my writings will impact those who need it most –those unable to vocalize exactly how they feel and those who may not be as safe to do so, let alone the voiceless.

I hope that these writings may start me on the path to writing my own collection of essays or feature pieces much like my role model Roxanne Gay. All I can do is do, because like my other iconic fountain of knowledge says , “Do or do not, there is no try”.

Thank you, and may peace be upon you.

A.

Leave a Reply

